J-School: Educating Independent Journalists

“If tools could make anyone who picked them up an expert, they’d be valuable indeed.” Plato, The Republic

Revising “The Deprofessionalization of Journalism”

Posted by chanders on February 9, 2006

This semester I’m begining what (I hope) will be my last major revision to "The Deprofessionalization of Journalism", an essay which began as an MA Thesis and then, under the stimulating and productive influence of my readings in the sociology of the professions,  morphed into the draft paper you see linked above. The current (and last?!?) revision will take into account my growing interest in a specific domain of the sociology of the professions– professional claims to expert knowledge– my current (and last!) class on the sociology of expertise, comments from various readers of the previous paper, and a few weeks to refect on the previous draft. With any luck, the latest draft might be publishable (or at least conference-presentable) and might serve as the general theoretical backdrop to my dissertation (ie, Chapter One).

As a side note: I am really starting to feel the need and the urge to put this theoretical mumbo-jumbo behind me and get a plan together to get out into the field and actually start to "find things out." I suppose this is at it should be– a prof. once told me that its easy to get lost in "theory" and eventually you just need to stop thinking and start working.

The (new-ish) outline of my latest draft go something along thse lines (I want to get this outline written before I heavily reexamine my draft so the outline will guide my revisions, rather than the other way around):

A. Introduction

B. Journalism as a Profession and Object of Study
    1. Journalism as a profession (mostly the professional literature itself)
    2. Journalism as an ethnographic domain
    3. Historical perspectives on profession of journalism
    4. New approaches to the journalism profession
        a. Journalism as a field (Benson, et. al.)
        b. Rosen
        c. Singer
        d. Deuze
C. Sociological Perspectives: From "Professions" to "Expert Knowledge."
    1. Functional perspectives
    2. The stuctural / monopoly perspective
    3 . Professions as a claim to expert knowledge
D. Journalism and the Epistemology of News
    1. Does journalism make a claim to expert knowledge?
    2. Erkstrom
    3. Matheson
    4. Lowry
    5. Reexamining journalism and the professions through the "epistemological lens."
E. Avenues for Future Research: tying work into theory

27 Responses to “Revising “The Deprofessionalization of Journalism””

  1. Olaf said

    Excellent paper Chris. If I want to refer to it in a print paper, should I refer this webposting or do you plan to publish it somewhere (off or online)?

  2. Chris said

    Hi Olaf,

    Thanks for the compliment. Feel free to refer to it by its online url, just please put “draft” in the cite when and if you were to cite it.

    best,
    chris

  3. Although it is understandable that you could be going through a painful and hard period right now, it is nevertheless essential that you get control over yourself fast and be resilient.

    Step 3: Understand you need to train yourself to take action.
    The introduction of the new whaling vessel helped
    Greenland to become dominant in the arctic whaling grounds.

  4. Thanks for finally writing about >Revising “Thee Deprofessionalization of Journalism” « J-School: Educating Independent
    Journalists <Liked it!

  5. I’ve been browsing online more than three hours today, yet I
    never found any interesting article like yours.
    It’s pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all website owners and bloggers
    made good content as you did, the web wiol be a lot more useful than ever
    before.

  6. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to doo it for you?
    Plz respond as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to find out
    where u got this from. kudos

  7. If youu desire to improve your familiarity simply keep visiting this web
    site and bbe updated witth the most recennt gossip posted here.

  8. ԌooԀ way of tellinǥ, and nice piece of writing to obtain facts
    concerning my presentation subject matter, which
    і am going tߋ convey iin school.

  9. This web site certainly has all of the information I
    wanted concerning this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  10. Teena said

    Нeello it’s me, I am also visiting thiis web site daily,
    this site is аctually fastidious annd thhe viewerѕ are trսly
    sharing fastidious thouǥhts.

  11. Incredible points. Outstandong arguments. Keep up the great effort.

  12. When I originqlly commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four e-mails
    with the same comment. Is there aany wway you can remove people from that service?
    Thanks a lot!

  13. Emely said

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts about dragon city cheats gems free.

    Regards

  14. You actually makie it seem soo easy with your presentation
    but I fin this topic to be actually something which I think I would
    never understand. It seems too complex and very broad
    for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang
    of it!

  15. Thanks for fially writing about >Revising “The Deprofessionalization of Journalism” « J-School:
    Educating Independent Journalists <Loved it!

  16. Wow, this post is good, my younger sister is analyzing these things, so I am going tto tell
    her.

  17. Pansy said

    Hi! This iis my first visit to your blog! We are a team off volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us beneficial information
    to work on. You have done a outstanding job!

  18. It’s really a cool and helpful piece of info.

    I am satisfied that you just shared this useful info with us.

    Please kep us up to dae like this. Thank you for sharing.

  19. Kris said

    Wow, superb weblog layout! How lengthy have you been running a blog for?
    you made running a blog ook easy. The entire glane of your wevsite is excellent, as neatly as the content material!

  20. Hi there, just wnted to mention, I loved this article. It waas practical.
    Keeep on posting!

  21. Hey! I’m at work surfing around your blg from my new iphone 4!
    Just wanted to say I love reading your bllog and look
    forward to all your posts! Carry on the outstanding work!

  22. Аppreciate the recommenԀation. Will try it out.

  23. Excellent blog you have goot here.. It’s hzrd to find
    excellent writing like yours these days. I seriously appreciate individuals like you!
    Take care!!

  24. AÆ¿preciate the recommendation. Leet me ttry it out.

  25. Thanқs for finally writing about >RevisinÇ¥ “The Deprofeѕsionalization of Journalism” « J-School: Educating Independent Јournalists <Liked it!

  26. WOW just what I was looking for. Came hdre byy searching for healthy choice garcinia cambogia diet plan

  27. Ѕuperb pkst butt I was աondering if you coul write a litte more oո this subject?
    I’d bee very grateful if yyou could еlaƅorate a little bit furtɦer.

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

 
